olin-logo OLIN gGmbH

abgeordnetenwatch

The web portal abgeordnetenwatch.de offers a direct link between citizens and their parliamentarians and candidates. The heart of the site is the forum “Citizens ask – politicians answer”. This public dialogue creates transparency and holds policymakers accountable for their statements and promises. Research on issues related to lobbying, party donations and the outside earnings of politicians represents another area of focus.

Why we supported abgeordnetenwatch

By offering the general public easy and direct access to information about politicians, the organisation creates increased transparency around political decision-making processes. In addition, abgeordnetenwatch’s research projects expose the one-sided economic influence of industry lobbyists.

  • Field: Social policy
  • Project: Policy transparency
  • Country: Germany
  • Current funding period: 2013-2016
  • Current funding amount: 85,000 Euro
  • Status: post grant

Bürgerbewegung Finanzwende

Founded in 2018, the Berlin-based organisation fights for radical financial reform with the aim of rolling back the influence of the finance industry and ending the practice of passing on its risks to citizens and consumers. Although many years have passed since the outbreak of the financial crisis, today’s international financial markets are still plagued with debt crises, fraud and tax evasion. In this sense, the financial crisis is still far from over. The sector’s priorities continue to shift away from social objectives towards short-term profit-making.
The financial sector could serve as an engine for important developments, like the ecological transition, instead of blocking them. A “Finanzwende” (“financial turnaround”) envisions a financial services industry that serves society – not the other way around.

Why we support the Bürgerbewegung Finanzwende

Against better judgement, large amounts of money are still being invested in fossil energies. If investors’ current plans are implemented, the climate crisis will end in a climate catastrophe, because billions are being invested in companies whose business model is essentially based on the destruction of nature and the use of fossil fuels.

We have been supporting Bürgerbewegung Finanzwende since 2019.

  • Field: Social policy
  • Project: Formation of an organization
  • Country: Germany
  • Current funding period: 2019-2020
  • Current funding amount: 100,000 Euro
  • Status: Current grant

Corporate Europe Observatory (CEO)

CEO is a Brussels-based research and campaign group working to expose and critically examine the privileged access of companies and their lobbyists to EU lawmakers, which enables these groups to exert influence on policymaking. Corporate access to EU decisions leads to policies that exacerbate social injustice and accelerate the degradation of the global environment.

Why we support CEO

CEO also draws attention to the influence of corporate lobbying on the institutions of the EU in the areas of environment and agriculture. Research conducted by CEO has revealed to what extent corporations’ efforts to lobby EU decision-makers are aimed at influencing EU agricultural regulations in their favour.

We have been supporting CEO since 2015.

  • Field: Social policy
  • Project: Agrobusiness
  • Country: Belgium
  • Current funding period: 2018-2020
  • Current funding amount: 185,000 Euro
  • Status: Current grant

European Center for Constitutional and Human Rights (ECCHR)

The European Center for Constitutional and Human Rights (ECCHR) uses the law to fight for a world free from torture, oppression and exploitation. It supports the oppressed in their struggle for justice and makes use of legal tools to enforce human rights worldwide.

Why we supported the ECCHR

In its programme “Business and Human Rights”, the ECCHR focuses primarily on strategies for holding transnational corporations accountable for human and environmental rights violations.

  • Field: Social policy
  • Project: Wirtschaft und Menschenrechte
  • Country: Germany
  • Current funding period: 2018
  • Current funding amount: 50,000 Euro
  • Status: post grant

Intereuropean Human Aid Association (IHA)

Founded in 2015, the Munich-based organisation offers emergency and transitional aid for refugees across Europe. Working with a team of volunteers in close coordination with non-governmental organisations, the IHA provides protection and assistance to refugees in the camps forming along the EU’s outer borders

Why we supported the IHA

In the context of the acute European refugee crisis, the organisation made an important contribution towards the improvement and implementation of Europe’s humanitarian and human-rights standards.

  • Field: Social policy
  • Project: Refugee aid
  • Country: Germany
  • Current funding period: 2016
  • Current funding amount: 10,000 Euro
  • Status: post grant

Lobby Control

The organisation Lobby Control in Cologne and Berlin exposes the power structures and strategies of business influence “in the grey zones of politics” in Germany and the EU. It fights for transparency, democratic control and clear limits for the influence of lobbies on politics and public life.

Why we support Lobby Control

By exposing the one-sided influence of corporate lobbyists on political decision-making processes, Lobby Control seeks to give the general public the opportunity to have their voices heard. The organisation is also calling for transparency obligations for lobbyists.

We have been supporting Lobby Control since 2013.

  • Field: Social policy
  • Project: Strengthening democracy
  • Country: Germany
  • Current funding period: 2018-2020
  • Current funding amount: 180,000 Euro
  • Status: Current grant

netzwerk recherche

This Berlin-based association of journalists seeks to strengthen research journalism in media and raise awareness of its importance. One of its main goals is the improvement of educational and training programmes in the area of research. In line with this aim, the organisation develops concepts, organises conferences and awards research grants.

Why we support netzwerk recherche

The media plays a significant role in the dissemination of information about environmental problems and is an important influencing factor in the context of sociopolitical debates on environmental issues. netzwerk recherche and Olin gGmbH work together to award grants for research projects in the areas of environment and ecology. In order to qualify for a grant, the project must pursue new theories and questions in these areas and be of an investigative nature.

We have been supporting network recherche since 2015.

  • Field: Social policy
  • Project: Environmental scholarships
  • Country: Germany
  • Current funding period: 2018-2020
  • Current funding amount: 90,000 Euro
  • Status: Current grant

Sea-Watch

The Berlin-based organisation Sea-Watch is dedicated to civil operations for rescuing refugees in distress at sea. Sea-Watch is responding to the current humanitarian disaster involving thousands of fatalities in the Mediterranean Sea by providing emergency aid. Its teams have already rescued thousands of people. At the same time, the organisation calls for and expedites rescue operations by the responsible European institutions and advocates for the establishment of safe and legal routes for refugees.

Why we support Sea-Watch

No one should have to die on Europe’s external borders while fleeing their homelands in pursuit of humane living conditions. We have a humanitarian obligation to act instead of standing idly by and watching as people in search of protection drown in the Mediterranean Sea.

We have been supporting Sea-Watch since 2016.

  • Field: Social policy
  • Project: Sea rescue
  • Country: Germany
  • Current funding period: 2018-2019
  • Current funding amount: 30,000 Euro
  • Status: Current grant

Sherpa

Their mission is, to protect and defend victims of economic crimes drawing on the power of the law. They fight against the new forms of impunity linked to globalization.

Why we support Sherpa

Sherpa pursues of a binding legal framework to make economic actors, and transnational companies in particular violating human rights and causing environmental damages, accountable for their impacts.

We have been supporting Sherpa since 2019.

  • Field: Social policy
  • Project: Corporate accountability
  • Country: France
  • Current funding period: 2019
  • Current funding amount: 40,000 Euro
  • Status: Current grant

Stop CETA, TTIP Demo

In the autumn of 2016, shortly before decisions were to be made on the free trade agreements between the EU and United States (TTIP) and between the EU and Canada (CETA), a broad coalition of associations and organisations held demonstrations in several German cities.

Why we supported the Stop CETA, TTIP Demo 

These types of free trade agreements – which have also been, and are still being, negotiated with other countries – pose the concrete risk that stricter legislation and regulations for environmental and climate protection will be prevented or watered down.

  • Field: Social policy
  • Project: Stop CETA - Stop TTIP
  • Country: Germany
  • Current funding period: 2016
  • Current funding amount: 15,000 Euro
  • Status: post grant

olin-logo OLIN gGmbH

abgeordnetenwatch

abgeordnetenwatch.de ist der direkte Draht von Bürger*innen zu den Abgeordneten und Kandidierenden. „Bürger*innen fragen – Politiker*innen antworten” ist der Kern des Portals. Dieser öffentliche Dialog schafft Transparenz und sorgt für eine Verbindlichkeit in den Aussagen der Politiker*innen. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt sind Recherchen zu den Themen Lobbyismus, Parteispenden und Nebentätigkeiten von Politiker*innen.

Warum wir abgeordnetenwatch unterstützten

Durch den einfachen und direkten Zugang zu Informationen über Politiker*innen entsteht für die Öffentlichkeit eine höhere Transparenz über politische Entscheidungsprozesse. Darüber hinaus zeigen Recherchen von abgeordnetenwatch.de einseitige wirtschaftliche Einflussnahme durch wirtschaftsnahe Lobbyist*innen.

Bürgerbewegung Finanzwende

Der 2018 in Berlin gegründete Verein kämpft für eine radikale Finanzwende, um den Einfluss der Finanzindustrie zurückzudrängen und ihre Risiken nicht länger auf Bürger*innen und Verbraucher*innen abzuwälzen. Denn auch viele Jahre nach dem Ausbruch der Finanzkrise gehören Schuldenkrise, Betrug und Steuertricks zur Tagesordnung an den internationalen Finanzmärkten, die Finanzkrise ist also noch längst nicht überwunden. Die kurzfristigen Profitinteressen der Branche weichen zunehmend von gesamtgesellschaftlichen Zielen ab. Dabei könnte die Finanzbranche als Motor für wichtige Entwicklungen wie z.B. die ökologische Transformation dienen, anstatt sie zu blockieren. Eine Finanzwende beschreibt eine Finanzwirtschaft, die der Gesellschaft dient – und nicht umgekehrt.

Warum wir die Bürgerbewegung Finanzwende unterstützen

Wider besseren Wissens wird noch immer viel Geld in fossile Energien investiert. Realisiert sich die aktuelle Einschätzung der Investoren, endet die Klimakrise in der Klimakatastrophe, denn Milliardenbeträge sind noch immer in Unternehmen investiert, deren Geschäftsmodell im Wesentlichen auf der Ausbeutung der Natur und der Nutzung fossiler Brennstoffe beruht.

Wir fördern die Bürgerbewegung Finanzwende seit dem Jahr 2019.

Corporate Europe Observatory (CEO)

CEO ist eine Recherche- und Kampagnenorganisation in Brüssel. Sie arbeitet daran, den privilegierten Zugang und Einfluss von Unternehmen und ihrer Lobbygruppen auf die EU-Politik aufzudecken und kritisch zu hinterfragen. Der Zugriff der Unternehmen auf Entscheidungen der EU führt zu einer Politik, die soziale Ungerechtigkeit verschärft und die weltweite Umweltzerstörung beschleunigt.

Warum wir CEO unterstützen

CEO zeigt den Lobby-Einfluss von Unternehmen auf EU-Institutionen auch in den Bereichen Umwelt und Landwirtschaft auf. Recherchen von CEO legen offen, wie die Lobbyarbeit der Unternehmen bei den Entscheidungsträger*innen in der EU darauf abzielt, geplante EU-Vorschriften im Agrarsektor in ihrem Sinne zu beeinflussen.

Wir fördern CEO seit dem Jahr 2015.

European Center for Constitutional and Human Rights (ECCHR)

Das European Center for Constitutional and Human Rights (ECCHR) in Berlin nutzt das Recht, um für eine solidarische Welt frei von Folter, Unterdrückung und Ausbeutung zu kämpfen. Es unterstützt Betroffene in ihrem Kampf um Gerechtigkeit und setzt Menschenrechte weltweit mit juristischen Mitteln durch.

Warum wir das ECCHR unterstützten

In seinem Programm „Wirtschaft und Menschenrechte” beschäftigt sich das ECCHR vor allem mit der Frage der Unternehmenshaftung transnationaler Firmen bei Menschen- und Umweltrechtsverletzungen.

Intereuropean Human Aid Association (IHA)

Der 2015 gegründete Münchener Verein engagiert sich europaweit in der Not- und Übergangshilfe für Geflüchtete. Mit einem Team von Freiwilligen und in enger Abstimmung mit Nichtregierungsorganisationen leistet IHA diesen Menschen in den Geflüchtetenlagern an den EU-Außengrenzen Schutz und Beistand.

Warum wir IHA unterstützten

Während der akuten europäischen Geflüchtetenkrise leistete der Verein einen wichtigen Beitrag im Sinne der humanitären und menschenrechtlichen Ansprüche Europas.

Lobby Control

Der Verein Lobby Control in Köln und Berlin klärt über Machtstrukturen und Einflussstrategien „in den Grauzonen der Politik“ in Deutschland und der EU auf. Er setzt sich ein für Transparenz, demokratische Kontrolle und klare Schranken für die Einflussnahme auf Politik und Öffentlichkeit.

Warum wir Lobby Control unterstützen

Einseitige Einflussnahmen durch Konzernlobbyist*innen auf politische Entscheidungsprozesse legt Lobby Control offen, um einer breiten Öffentlichkeit die Möglichkeit zu geben, ihre eigenen Positionen zu vertreten. Die Organisation setzt sich für Transparenzpflichten für Lobbyist*innen ein.

Wir fördern Lobby Control seit dem Jahr 2013.

netzwerk recherche

Dieser Zusammenschluss von Journalist*innen mit Sitz in Berlin will die journalistische Recherche in der Medienpraxis stärken und auf ihre Bedeutung aufmerksam machen. Zu den zentralen Zielen des Netzwerks gehört es, die Aus- und Fortbildung im Bereich Recherche zu verbessern. Hierzu erarbeitet der Verein Konzepte, organisiert Fachkonferenzen und kümmert sich um die Vergabe von Recherche-Stipendien.

Warum wir netzwerk recherche unterstützen

Medien spielen eine wesentliche Rolle bei der Darstellung von Umweltproblemen und sind ein wichtiger Einflussfaktor, wenn gesellschaftspolitische Debatten über ökologische Themen ausgetragen werden. In Kooperation vergeben netzwerk recherche und die Olin gGmbH Stipendien für Rechercheprojekte im Bereich Umwelt/Ökologie. Die Vorhaben sollen neue Thesen und Fragen in diesen Bereichen verfolgen und einen investigativen Charakter aufweisen.

Wir fördern das netzwerk recherche seit dem Jahr 2015.

Sea-Watch

Der Berliner Verein hat sich der zivilen Seenotrettung von Flüchtenden verschrieben. Angesichts der humanitären Katastrophe mit Tausenden von Toten im Mittelmeer leistet Sea-Watch Hilfe in der Not. Bisher ist es den Mitarbeiter*innen gelungen, Tausende von Menschen zu retten. Gleichzeitig fordern und forcieren sie die Rettung durch die zuständigen europäischen Institutionen und stehen öffentlich für legale Fluchtwege ein.

Warum wir Sea-Watch unterstützen

Kein Mensch sollte mehr auf der Flucht und in der Hoffnung auf ein menschenwürdiges Leben an den Außengrenzen Europas sterben. Es besteht eine humanitäre Pflicht, dem Ertrinken von Schutzsuchenden im Mittelmeer nicht tatenlos zuzusehen.

Wir fördern Sea-Watch seit dem Jahr 2016.

Sherpa

Ihr Ziel ist es, die Opfer von Wirtschaftsverbrechen zu schützen und zu verteidigen, die sich auf die Macht des Gesetzes stützen. Sie gehen gegen die neuen Formen der Straffreiheit im Zusammenhang mit der Globalisierung vor.

Warum wir Sherpa unterstützen

Sherpa schafft einen verbindlichen Rechtsrahmens, damit Wirtschaftsunternehmen und insbesondere transnationale Unternehmen, die Menschenrechte verletzen und Umweltschäden verursachen, für ihre Auswirkungen haften.

Wir fördern Sherpa seit dem Jahr 2019.

Stop CETA, TTIP Demo

Im Herbst 2016 kurz vor den Entscheidungen über die Unterzeichnung der Freihandelsabkommen zwischen der EU und den USA (TTIP) sowie zwischen der EU und Kanada (CETA) demonstrierte ein breites Bündnis aus Verbänden und Organisationen in vielen deutschen Städten.

Warum wir die Stop CETA, TTIP Demo unterstützten

Derartige Freihandelsabkommen – wie sie auch mit anderen Ländern verhandelt wurden und werden – bergen die konkrete Gefahr, dass strengere Gesetze und Regelungen für den Schutz von Umwelt und Klima verhindert oder aufgeweicht werden.