olin-logo OLIN gGmbH

abgeordnetenwatch

The web portal abgeordnetenwatch.de offers a direct link between citizens and their parliamentarians and candidates. The heart of the site is the forum “Citizens ask – politicians answer”. This public dialogue creates transparency and holds policymakers accountable for their statements and promises. Research on issues related to lobbying, party donations and the outside earnings of politicians represents another area of focus.

Why we supported abgeordnetenwatch

By offering the general public easy and direct access to information about politicians, the organisation creates increased transparency around political decision-making processes. In addition, abgeordnetenwatch’s research projects expose the one-sided economic influence of industry lobbyists.

  • Field: Social policy
  • Project: Policy transparency
  • Country: Germany
  • Current funding period: 2013-2016
  • Current funding amount: 85,000 Euro
  • Status: post grant

Bergwaldprojekt

The Würzburg-based organisation Bergwaldprojekt (Mountain Forest Project) works for the protection and conservation of ecosystems in various parts of Germany, including Alpine protection forests, nature parks and the close-to-natural forests of the Central Uplands.

Why we supported the Bergwaldprojekt

In week-long projects, volunteers do forestry work, such as reforestation. This work also educates participants and the public about the importance, and endangerment, of our natural resources.

  • Field: Nature conservation
  • Project: Ecological reformation of forests
  • Country: Germany
  • Current funding period: 2014-2018
  • Current funding amount: 140,000 Euro
  • Status: post grant

European Center for Constitutional and Human Rights (ECCHR)

The European Center for Constitutional and Human Rights (ECCHR) uses the law to fight for a world free from torture, oppression and exploitation. It supports the oppressed in their struggle for justice and makes use of legal tools to enforce human rights worldwide.

Why we supported the ECCHR

In its programme “Business and Human Rights”, the ECCHR focuses primarily on strategies for holding transnational corporations accountable for human and environmental rights violations.

  • Field: Social policy
  • Project: Wirtschaft und Menschenrechte
  • Country: Germany
  • Current funding period: 2018
  • Current funding amount: 50,000 Euro
  • Status: post grant

Intereuropean Human Aid Association (IHA)

Founded in 2015, the Munich-based organisation offers emergency and transitional aid for refugees across Europe. Working with a team of volunteers in close coordination with non-governmental organisations, the IHA provides protection and assistance to refugees in the camps forming along the EU’s outer borders

Why we supported the IHA

In the context of the acute European refugee crisis, the organisation made an important contribution towards the improvement and implementation of Europe’s humanitarian and human-rights standards.

  • Field: Social policy
  • Project: Refugee aid
  • Country: Germany
  • Current funding period: 2016
  • Current funding amount: 10,000 Euro
  • Status: post grant

Mellifera e.V.

The organisation Mellifera, based in Rosenfeld (Baden-Württemberg), focuses on species-appropriate and ecological beekeeping and the protection of bees. It develops concepts that help beekeepers strengthen the long-term health of their bees.

Why we supported Mellifera

In 2013 the European Commission placed major restrictions on the use of three neonicotinoid pesticides owing to their harmful effects on bee health. In response, the chemical firms BASF, Bayer and Syngenta filed a lawsuit. Mellifera and other beekeepers’ associations were involved in the case. In May 2018 the European Court of Justice upheld the partial ban of the bee-harming substances.

  • Field: Nature conservation
  • Project: Apiculture
  • Country: Deutschland
  • Current funding period: 2014-2015
  • Current funding amount: 7,500 Euro
  • Status: post grant

Schutzstation Wattenmeer

The Wadden Sea World Heritage Site, as one of the world’s largest intertidal ecosystems and one of Europe’s last large-scale wilderness areas, is of paramount importance to millions of birds and other wildlife. The mission of the Husum-based environmental association Naturschutzgesellschaft Schutzstation Wattenmeer is to promote an understanding of, and fascination for, this ecosystem and help preserve it for future generations in spite of climate change, rising sea levels and intensive use.

Why we supported the Schutzstation Wattenmeer

In spite of the high legal-protection status of the German Wadden Sea, the measures that are being taken for its protection are inadequate. The influences of business interests and impacts of tourism are threatening this natural environment. The ecological status of the Wadden Sea is alarming and requires that urgent and concrete steps be taken for the protection of this unique natural area.

  • Field: Nature conservation
  • Project: Wadden Sea ecosystem
  • Country: Germany
  • Current funding period: 2017-2018
  • Current funding amount: 40,000 Euro
  • Status: post grant

Stiftung Feuchtgebiete

The Stiftung Feuchtgebiete (Wetlands Foundation) supports initiatives for the protection and restoration of natural wetlands. The foundation’s funding areas include not only practical field work in nature conservation, but also project-related research, awareness-raising and public-relations work, educational programmes and lobbying activities for the conservation of wetlands.

Why we supported the Stiftung Feuchtgebiete

Moors play a significant role in climate protection. They are important carbon sinks and offer a unique habitat for numerous plants and animals. The restoration of degraded moors will play a vital role in slowing down the further release of greenhouse gases.

  • Field: Nature conservation
  • Project: Moor rewetting
  • Country: Germany
  • Current funding period: 2016
  • Current funding amount: 30,000 Euro
  • Status: post grant

Stop CETA, TTIP Demo

In the autumn of 2016, shortly before decisions were to be made on the free trade agreements between the EU and United States (TTIP) and between the EU and Canada (CETA), a broad coalition of associations and organisations held demonstrations in several German cities.

Why we supported the Stop CETA, TTIP Demo 

These types of free trade agreements – which have also been, and are still being, negotiated with other countries – pose the concrete risk that stricter legislation and regulations for environmental and climate protection will be prevented or watered down.

  • Field: Social policy
  • Project: Stop CETA - Stop TTIP
  • Country: Germany
  • Current funding period: 2016
  • Current funding amount: 15,000 Euro
  • Status: post grant

TU Hamburg-Harburg (TUHH)

In the context of a PhD project at the Hamburg University of Technology (TUHH), project partners in Arba Minch, Ethiopia, are developing a new land-use system that uses sustainable and organic agriculture to restore and preserve eroded and degraded soils and ecosystems. Cooperative, synergistic systems are being created through the specific combination of various measures incorporating environmental technologies.

Why we supported the Slope Farming Project

The loss of fertile agricultural land through soil degradation and erosion is one of the main reasons for the problem of water and food insecurity in sub-Saharan Africa. These issues are being caused by conventional agriculture and the ever-longer periods of drought associated with climate change. The project’s holistic approach is aimed at finding an innovative solution for the rehabilitation and maintenance of degraded soils and destroyed vegetation.

  • Field: Nature conservation
  • Project: Agriculture
  • Country: Germany
  • Current funding period: 2016-2017
  • Current funding amount: 28,400 Euro
  • Status: post grant

olin-logo OLIN gGmbH

abgeordnetenwatch

abgeordnetenwatch.de ist der direkte Draht von Bürger*innen zu den Abgeordneten und Kandidierenden. „Bürger*innen fragen – Politiker*innen antworten” ist der Kern des Portals. Dieser öffentliche Dialog schafft Transparenz und sorgt für eine Verbindlichkeit in den Aussagen der Politiker*innen. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt sind Recherchen zu den Themen Lobbyismus, Parteispenden und Nebentätigkeiten von Politiker*innen.

Warum wir abgeordnetenwatch unterstützten

Durch den einfachen und direkten Zugang zu Informationen über Politiker*innen entsteht für die Öffentlichkeit eine höhere Transparenz über politische Entscheidungsprozesse. Darüber hinaus zeigen Recherchen von abgeordnetenwatch.de einseitige wirtschaftliche Einflussnahme durch wirtschaftsnahe Lobbyist*innen.

Bergwaldprojekt

In Schutzwäldern der Alpen, in Naturparks und naturnahen Wäldern der Mittelgebirge arbeitet der Würzburger Verein Bergwaldprojekt an verschiedenen Orten Deutschlands für den Schutz und Erhalt dieser Ökosysteme.

Warum wir Bergwaldprojekt unterstützten

In einwöchigen Arbeitswochen pflegen freiwillige Helfer*innen die Wälder, pflanzen Bäume und tragen so dazu bei, die Bedeutung und Gefährdung unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen bei den Teilnehmer*innen und in der Öffentlichkeit bewusst zu machen.

European Center for Constitutional and Human Rights (ECCHR)

Das European Center for Constitutional and Human Rights (ECCHR) in Berlin nutzt das Recht, um für eine solidarische Welt frei von Folter, Unterdrückung und Ausbeutung zu kämpfen. Es unterstützt Betroffene in ihrem Kampf um Gerechtigkeit und setzt Menschenrechte weltweit mit juristischen Mitteln durch.

Warum wir das ECCHR unterstützten

In seinem Programm „Wirtschaft und Menschenrechte” beschäftigt sich das ECCHR vor allem mit der Frage der Unternehmenshaftung transnationaler Firmen bei Menschen- und Umweltrechtsverletzungen.

Intereuropean Human Aid Association (IHA)

Der 2015 gegründete Münchener Verein engagiert sich europaweit in der Not- und Übergangshilfe für Geflüchtete. Mit einem Team von Freiwilligen und in enger Abstimmung mit Nichtregierungsorganisationen leistet IHA diesen Menschen in den Geflüchtetenlagern an den EU-Außengrenzen Schutz und Beistand.

Warum wir IHA unterstützten

Während der akuten europäischen Geflüchtetenkrise leistete der Verein einen wichtigen Beitrag im Sinne der humanitären und menschenrechtlichen Ansprüche Europas.

Mellifera e.V.

Die wesensgemäße und ökologische Bienenhaltung und der Schutz der Bienen steht im Zentrum des Vereins Mellifera in Rosenfeld (Baden-Württemberg). Der Verein entwickelt Konzepte für Imker*innen, um langfristig die Gesundheit der Bienen zu stärken.

Warum wir Mellifera unterstützten

2013 hatte die EU-Kommission die Anwendung von drei Insektiziden aus der Gruppe der Neonicotinoide wegen ihrer schädlichen Wirkung auf Bienen erheblich eingeschränkt, wogegen die Herstellerkonzerne BASF, Bayer und Syngenta klagten. Mellifera und andere Imker*innenverbände beteiligten sich an diesem Prozess vor dem Europäischen Gerichtshof, der das Teilverbot der bienenschädlichen Mittel im Mai 2018 bestätigte.

Schutzstation Wattenmeer

Das Weltnaturerbe Wattenmeer als eines der größten Gezeiten-Ökosysteme und als eines der letzten großen Wildnisgebiete Europas ist von überragender Bedeutung für Millionen von Vögeln und anderer Lebewesen. Die Naturschutzgesellschaft Schutzstation Wattenmeer in Husum hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, das Verständnis und die Faszination für dieses Ökosystem zu wecken und es trotz Klimawandels, steigendem Meeresspiegel und intensiver Nutzung für kommende Generationen zu erhalten.

Warum wir die Schutzstation Wattenmeer unterstützten

Trotz des rechtlich hohen Schutzstatus des deutschen Wattenmeers sind die Maßnahmen für seinen Schutz unzureichend. Der Einfluss wirtschaftlicher Interessen und des Tourismus bedrohen diesen Naturraum. Der ökologische Zustand des Wattenmeeres ist besorgniserregend und bedarf dringend konkreter Schritte zur Sicherung dieses einzigartigen Naturraumes.

Stiftung Feuchtgebiete

Die Stiftung Feuchtgebiete fördert Initiativen zum Schutz und zur Wiedererschaffung natürlicher Feuchtgebiete. Neben der praktischen naturschutzfachlichen Feldarbeit gehören projektbezogene Forschung, Aufklärung und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit sowie Bildungs- und Lobbyarbeit für den Feuchtgebietsschutz zu den Förderbereichen der Stiftung.

Warum wir die Stiftung Feuchtgebiete unterstützten

Für den Klimaschutz haben Moore eine hohe Bedeutung. Sie sind wichtige Kohlenstoffspeicher und bieten einen einzigartigen Lebensraum für zahlreiche Pflanzen und Tiere. Degradierte Moorflächen zu renaturieren ist von entscheidender Bedeutung, um weitere klimawirksame Ausgasungen zu verhindern.

Stop CETA, TTIP Demo

Im Herbst 2016 kurz vor den Entscheidungen über die Unterzeichnung der Freihandelsabkommen zwischen der EU und den USA (TTIP) sowie zwischen der EU und Kanada (CETA) demonstrierte ein breites Bündnis aus Verbänden und Organisationen in vielen deutschen Städten.

Warum wir die Stop CETA, TTIP Demo unterstützten

Derartige Freihandelsabkommen – wie sie auch mit anderen Ländern verhandelt wurden und werden – bergen die konkrete Gefahr, dass strengere Gesetze und Regelungen für den Schutz von Umwelt und Klima verhindert oder aufgeweicht werden.

TU Hamburg-Harburg (TUHH)

Im Rahmen eines Promotionsvorhabens an der Technischen Universität Hamburg-Harburg entwickeln Mitarbeiter*innen im äthiopischen Arba Minch ein neuartiges Landnutzungssystem, das erodierte und degradierte Böden und Ökosysteme mittels nachhaltiger und organischer Bewirtschaftung wiederaufbauen und erhalten kann. Durch die spezifische Kombination verschiedener umwelttechnologischer Maßnahmen werden kooperative synergistische Systeme erzeugt.

Warum wir das Slope Farming Projekt unterstützten

Der Verlust fruchtbarer Ackerflächen durch Bodendegradierung und -erosion ist eine der Hauptursachen für die mangelnde Wasser- und Ernährungssicherheit in Subsahara-Afrika. Als Verursacher gelten die konventionelle Landwirtschaft und die in Folge des Klimawandels zunehmenden Dürrephasen. Der ganzheitliche Ansatz des Projekts sucht eine neuartige Lösung für die Wiedernutzbarmachung und Erhaltung degradierter Böden und der zerstörten Vegetation.