olin-logo OLIN gGmbH

BankTrack

BankTrack is a Netherlands-based international organisation that tracks banks and the activities they finance. BankTrack’s mission is to bring fundamental change to the banking sector through campaign work. The organisation encourages banks to make their business activities transparent and understandable, to stop financing harmful business models and to contribute to a just society and a healthy planet.

Why we support BankTrack

The most important step towards limiting the magnitude of climate change is to quickly put an end to coal-based energy production. BankTrack is calling on large banks and investors to stop the flow of capital into new coal-fired power plants and to remove coal-fired power plant developers from their portfolios.

We have been supporting BankTrack since 2017.

COMM e.V.

The organisation COMM e.V., based in Bokholt-Hanredder (Schleswig-Holstein), organises political-education measures throughout Germany in the areas of environmental protection and conservation. The preservation of natural resources for future generations is the guiding principle of the organisation’s work. Its activists promote social change through creative and non-violent campaigns.

Why we support COMM e.V.

COMM e.V. organises events as well as protest camps throughout Germany with various educational programmes focused on the issue of climate change.

We have been supporting COMM e.V. since 2018.

Deutsche Umwelthilfe (DUH)

The environmental and consumer-protection organisation DUH, with offices in Radolfzell and Berlin, monitors the effective application of environmental legislation and fights for clean air and other issues in order to protect citizens and the climate. The DUH focuses heavily on the transport sector, which is responsible for a large percentage of the world’s climate-damaging CO2 emissions. For example, the DUH proved that diesel carmakers had been illegally manipulating emissions data and that, as a result, the amount of pollution produced in real operation was significantly higher than the vehicles’ laboratory measurements for type approval. The DUH is fighting to uncover further facts about the diesel-emissions scandal and to ensure future compliance with environmental standards.

Why we support the DUH

In the context of the diesel emissions affair, the DUH has been fighting for the health of citizens, as a large proportion of the nitrogen oxide in our air stems from diesel engines. Older people are particularly vulnerable to the associated health risks and therefore have a special need for protection. In the interest of health, the DUH fights for compliance with the legal limits.

We have been supporting DUH since 2016.

  • Field: Environmental policy
  • Project: Air pollution control
  • Country: Germany
  • Current funding period: 2018-2020
  • Current funding amount: 200,000 Euro
  • Status: Current grant

Climatestrike Switzerland

Klimastreik Schweiz (Climate Strike Switzerland) is an association of teenagers and young adults who are fighting for a radical shift in environmental and climate policy. They have decided not to remain silent about the catastrophic effects of the climate crisis but instead to put pressure on policymakers and call for science-based action on climate change.

Why we support Klimastreik Schweiz:

Klimastreik Schweiz organises demonstrations, conferences and other events to express their demands and fight for their, and our, future. With their SMILE Summit in the summer of 2019, they are seeking to connect the local groups that have formed through the “Fridays for Future” movement and develop a common strategy, because the climate crisis can only be solved by working together!

We have been supporting Klimastreik Schweiz since 2019.

Les Amis de la Terre

The French environmental and human-rights organisation Les Amis de la Terre (Friends of the Earth) is fighting for a sustainable society. Its mission is to help create a world in which the basic human needs of every individual are met without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs.

Why we support Les Amis de la Terre

One of the organisation’s projects is aimed at convincing French banks to not only stop their financial investments in new coal projects, but also pursue a sectoral policy that rules out the financing of companies within the coal industry. Les Amis de la Terre is working to promote the adoption of binding investment guidelines for banks.

We have been supporting Les Amis de la Terre since 2017.

Plant-for-the-Planet

Founded in 2007 by a group of children and adolescents, the initiative “Plant-for-the-Planet” originated as a school project aimed at taking action against climate change. The initiative has since developed into a global movement involving 100,000 children and adolescents. Their worldwide tree-planting programme is making a practical contribution to climate protection.

Why we support Plant-for-the-Planet

The young people of “Plant-for-the-Planet” are fighting for climate justice. In addition, the organisation not only provides a strong voice for young peoples’ interests and demands for action on the climate emergency, but also gives them the chance to join together to fight for their future.

We have been supporting Plant-for-the-Planet since 2019.

PowerShift

The Berlin-based organisation advocates for an energy industry and global economy based on solidarity and environmental sustainability while addressing issues related to economic, energy, climate, raw-materials and trade policy. Through research, political activities and educational and public-relations work, it contributes to the global energy revolution and to fairer global-economic relations.

Why we support PowerShift

One of the organisation’s main areas of focus is the critical monitoring of Germany’s raw-materials policy and the associated ecological and social risks. PowerShift advocates for mandatory human-rights due diligence for companies and for the implementation of the EU Conflict Minerals Regulation.

We have been supporting PowerShift since 2018.

Re:Common

The Italian organisation Re:Common initiates research projects and campaigns with the aim of stopping the worldwide environmental destruction associated with the reckless exploitation of natural resources and large-scale public and private infrastructure projects.

Why we support Re:Common

As part of a European network of civil-society organisations, Re:Common encourages Italian insurance companies and banks to distance themselves from investments in coal-fired power plants and to stop financing the development of new power stations.

We have been supporting Re:Common since 2017.

Rozwój TAK-Odkrywki NIE

The Polish foundation “Development YES – Open-pit Mines NO” (Rozwój TAK – Odkrywki NIE) is working to prevent the expansion and future development of open-pit lignite mines in Poland. It supports civil-society organisations and citizens in their efforts to halt plans for new open-pit mines and to fight the negative impacts of existing mining areas. The foundation promotes the implementation of energy models based on renewable sources.

Why we support Rozwój TAK – Odkrywki NIE

The current Polish government plans to continue relying on coal as the main pillar of its power supply in spite of the fact that the implementation of the Paris Climate Agreement requires an exit from coal. The foundation “Development YES – Open-pit Mines NO” confronts banks that are active in the financing of new coal projects and encourages them to withdraw from this business area.

We have been supporting Rozwój TAK-Odkrywki NIE since 2018.

Testbiotech

The Institute for Independent Impact Assessment of Biotechnology, which is part of the Munich-based organisation Testbiotech, promotes independent research and social debate on the effects of biotechnology. The Institute focuses on the environmental, social and ethical impacts of new biotechnologies, particularly those associated with the use of genetic engineering in agriculture.

Why we support Testbiotech

What are the consequences of genetic engineering for humans and the environment?Testbiotech shares information on the risks associated with these technologies from a critical perspective. The Institute provides scientific expertise that is completely independent of the biotech industry to help strengthen the decision-making capacity of politicians and society.

We have been supporting Testbiotech since 2012.

urgewald

Those who provide the funds are responsible for the business – or, as they say, “follow the money”: the environmental and human-rights organisation urgewald, with offices in Sassenberg and Berlin, uses this strategic approach to fight environmentally destructive projects. Accordingly, urgewald’s campaigns primarily target the investors and financiers of these projects, because no nuclear power plants, dams or pipelines can be built without loans or investors.

Why we support urgewald

The Paris climate targets cannot be achieved if the unrestricted burning of coal worldwide continues. Banks, insurance companies and investors are being called upon to withdraw their funds from coal and join the “coal divestment” movement. Instead of supporting this harmful industry with further investments, financiers should turn to more environmentally sustainable projects.

We have been supporting urgewald since 2014.

World Rainforest Movement

The World Rainforest Movement (WRM), based in Montevideo, Uruguay, is an international network of environmental organisations, social movements and NGOs that support small farmers and indigenous peoples. The WRM works worldwide to protect rainforests for the traditional forest dwellers who rely on them for their livelihood and to defend the rights of these groups in opposition to destructive projects.

Why we support the World Rainforest Movement (WRM)

The world’s last remaining rainforests, with their rich biodiversity, must be preserved as complex ecosystems. In this context, it is essential that they are protected from industrial logging. The WRM encourages major timber companies to move towards environmentally and socially responsible forestry-management approaches that involve local populations in the planning of forest uses and that refrain from clear-cutting and other harmful practices.

We have been supporting World Rainforest Movement since 2015.

olin-logo OLIN gGmbH

BankTrack

BankTrack ist eine internationale Organisation mit Sitz in den Niederlanden, die Banken und die von ihnen finanzierten Aktivitäten verfolgt. Ziel von BankTrack ist es, durch Kampagnen grundlegende Veränderungen im Bankensektor herbeizuführen: Die Banken sollen ihre Geschäfte transparent und nachvollziehbar machen, die Finanzierung schädlicher Geschäftsmodelle beenden und stattdessen zu einer gerechten Gesellschaft und einem ökologisch intakten Planeten beitragen.

Warum wir BankTrack unterstützen

Der wichtigste Schritt zur Eindämmung des Klimawandels ist das rasche Ende der kohlebasierten Energieerzeugung. BankTrack will große Banken und Investoren dazu bewegen, Kapitalflüsse in neue Kohlekraftwerke zu stoppen und Kohlekraftwerksentwickler aus ihrem Portfolio auszuschließen.

Wir fördern BankTrack seit dem Jahr 2017.

COMM e.V.

In den Bereichen Umwelt- und Naturschutz veranstaltet der in Bokholt-Hanredder (Schleswig-Holstein) ansässige Verein bundesweit politische Bildungsmaßnahmen. Die Erhaltung der natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen für kommende Generationen ist das leitende Motiv der Vereinsarbeit. Mit kreativen und gewaltfreien Aktionen wollen die Aktivist*innen den gesellschaftlichen Wandel voranbringen.

Warum wir COMM e.V. unterstützen

Zum Thema Klimawandel organisiert der Verein deutschlandweit Veranstaltungen sowie Protest-Camps mit unterschiedlichen Bildungsprogrammen.

Wir fördern COMM e.V. seit dem Jahr 2018.

Deutsche Umwelthilfe (DUH)

Die Umwelt- und Verbraucherschutzorganisation DUH in Radolfzell und Berlin setzt die Anwendung von Umweltgesetzen durch und engagiert sich u.a. für saubere Luft zum Schutz von Bürger*innen und Klima. Hohes Augenmerk richtet die DUH auf den Verkehrssektor, der einen großen Anteil der klimaschädlichen CO2-Emissionen verursacht. Bei Herstellern von Diesel-PKW hat die DUH illegale Abgasmanipulationen nachgewiesen, wodurch im Realverkehr auf der Straße weitaus höhere Schadstoffe ausgestoßen werden als bei den Labormessungen der Fahrzeuge für die Typzulassung. Die DUH kämpft dafür, den Abgasskandal aufzuklären und Umweltvorgaben einzuhalten.

Warum wir die DUH unterstützen

Im Rahmen der Dieselabgasaffäre kämpft die DUH für die Gesundheit der Bürger*innen, denn ein Großteil der Stickoxide, denen Menschen ausgesetzt sind, stammt vor allem aus Dieselmotoren. Insbesondere ältere Menschen sind durch die Schadstoffe stärker gefährdet und damit besonders schutzbedürftig. Im Interesse der Gesundheit kämpft die DUH für die Einhaltung gesetzlich festgelegter Grenzwerte.

Wir fördern die DUH seit dem Jahr 2016.

  • Bereich: Umweltpolitik
  • Projekt: Luftreinhaltung
  • Land: Deutschland
  • Aktueller Förderzeitraum: 2018-2020
  • Aktuelle Fördersumme: 200.000 Euro
  • Status: aktuelle Förderungen

Klimastreik Schweiz

Klimastreik Schweiz ist ein Zusammenschluss Jugendlicher und junger Erwachsener, die sich für ein radikales Umdenken in der Umwelt- und Klimapolitik einsetzen. Über die katastrophalen Auswirkungen der Klimakrise wollen sie nicht mehr länger schweigen und erhöhen den Druck auf die Politik. Sie fordern entsprechend der vorliegenden klimawissenschaftlichen Erkenntnisse Taten.

Warum wir Klimastreik Schweiz unterstützen:

Klimastreik Schweiz organisiert Demonstrationen, Konferenzen und Veranstaltungen um ihren Forderungen Ausdruck zu verleihen und für ihre und unsere Zukunft zu kämpfen. Mit dem SMILE Summit im Sommer 2019 wollen sie die in den letzten Monaten durch die „Fridays for Future“ Bewegung entstandenen lokalen Bewegungen vernetzen und eine gemeinsame Strategie entwickeln. Denn die Klimakrise lässt sich nur zusammen lösen!

Wir fördern Klimastreik Schweiz seit dem Jahr 2019.

Les Amis de la Terre

Die französische Umwelt- und Menschenrechtsorganisation Les Amis de la Terre (Friends of the Earth) setzt sich für eine nachhaltige Gesellschaftsentwicklung ein. Ziel der Organisation ist eine Welt, in der die menschlichen Grundbedürfnisse jedes Einzelnen befriedigt werden, ohne dadurch die Möglichkeiten künftiger Generationen zu gefährden.

Warum wir Les Amis de la Terre unterstützen

In einem Projekt der Organisation sollen französische Banken davon überzeugt werden, sowohl ihre finanziellen Investitionen für neue Kohleprojekte zu stoppen als auch eine Sektorpolitik zu verfolgen, die auch Finanzierungen von Unternehmen innerhalb der Kohlebranche ausschließt. Les Amis de la Terre arbeitet auf die Verabschiedung bindender Investitionsrichtlinien für die Banken hin.

Wir fördern Les Amis de la Terre seit dem Jahr 2017.

Plant-for-the-Planet

Ausgehend von einem Schulprojekt wurde 2007 von Kindern und Jugendlichen die Initiative „Plant-for-the-Planet“ gegründet, um der Klimakrise Taten entgegenzusetzen. Durch das weltweite Pflanzen von Bäumen betreiben sie praktischen Klimaschutz. Mittlerweile hat sich die Initiative zu einer weltweiten Bewegung entwickelt, in der sich 100.000 Kinder und Jugendliche engagieren.

Warum wir Plant-for-the-Planet unterstützen

Kinder und Jugendliche setzen sich bei „Plant-for-the-Planet“ für Klimagerechtigkeit sein. Zudem dient die Organisation als Sprachrohr für die Interessen und Forderungen von Kindern und Jugendlichen im Umgang mit der Klimakrise. Sie bietet ihnen die Möglichkeit, gemeinsam für ihre Zukunft zu kämpfen.

Wir fördern „Plant-for-the-Planet“ seit dem Jahr 2019.

PowerShift

Der Berliner Verein für eine ökologisch-solidarische Energie- und Weltwirtschaft befasst sich mit energie-, klima-, rohstoff-, handels- und wirtschaftspolitischen Fragen. Durch Bildungs- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit, Forschung und politische Aktivitäten will er zu einer globalen Energiewende und gerechteren weltwirtschaftlichen Beziehungen beitragen.

Warum wir PowerShift unterstützen

Ein Schwerpunkt der Vereinsarbeit liegt auf der kritischen Begleitung deutscher Rohstoffpolitik und ihrer ökologischen und sozialen Risiken. Der Verein setzt sich unter anderem für eine menschenrechtliche Sorgfaltspflicht von Unternehmen und für die Umsetzung der EU-Verordnung zu Konfliktmineralien ein.

Wir fördern PowerShift seit dem Jahr 2018.

Re:Common

Die italienische Organisation Re:Common initiiert Recherchen und Kampagnen mit dem Ziel, die Zerstörung von Naturgebieten in aller Welt zu verhindern, die auf rücksichtslose Ausbeutung natürlicher Ressourcen sowie auf große öffentliche und private Infrastrukturprojekte zurückzuführen ist.

Warum wir Re:Common unterstützen

Als Teil eines europäischen Netzwerkes zivilgesellschaftlicher Organisationen setzt sich Re:Common dafür ein, dass sich italienische Versicherungen und Banken von Investitionen in Kohlekraftwerke trennen und ihre Finanzierung für die Entwicklung neuer Kraftwerke einstellen.

Wir fördern Re:Common seit dem Jahr 2017.

Rozwój TAK-Odkrywki NIE

Die polnische Stiftung „Entwicklung JA – Umweltzerstörung NEIN“ will die Pläne zum Bau neuer Braunkohletagebaue in Polen verhindern. Sie unterstützt zivilgesellschaftliche Organisationen und Bürger*innen, die sich gegen den Bau neuer und gegen die negativen Auswirkungen bestehender Abbaugebiete zur Wehr setzen. Die Stiftung setzt sich für eine Energieversorgung auf Basis erneuerbarer Energiequellen ein.

Warum wir Rozwój TAK-Odkrywki NIE unterstützen

Auch in Zukunft setzt die polnische Regierung auf Kohle als Hauptpfeiler der Stromversorgung. Die Umsetzung des Pariser Klimaabkommens erfordert jedoch den Ausstieg aus der Kohle. Die Stiftung „Entwicklung JA – Umweltzerstörung NEIN“ setzt sich mit den an der Finanzierung neuer Kohleprojekte beteiligten Banken auseinander, um sie zum Verzicht auf dieses Geschäft zu bewegen.

Wir fördern Rozwój TAK-Odkrywki NIE seit dem Jahr 2018.

Testbiotech

Das Institut für unabhängige Folgenabschätzung in der Biotechnologie des Münchener Vereins Testbiotech fördert die unabhängige Forschung und gesellschaftliche Debatte über die Auswirkungen der Biotechnologie. Inhaltlich liegt der Fokus auf den ökologischen, sozialen und ethischen Folgen biotechnologischer Entwicklungen insbesondere bei der Anwendung der Gentechnik in der Landwirtschaft.

Warum wir Testbiotech unterstützen

Welche Folgen hat der Einsatz der Gentechnik für Mensch und Umwelt? Testbiotech klärt über Risiken auf und setzt kritische Akzente. Das Institut stellt wissenschaftliche Expertise bereit, die unabhängig von der Gentechnik-Industrie ist, und trägt so dazu bei, die Entscheidungs- kompetenz von Politik und Gesellschaft zu stärken.

Wir fördern Testbiotech seit dem Jahr 2012.

urgewald

Wer das Geld gibt, trägt Verantwortung für das Geschäft – „follow the money”: Mit diesem strategischen Ansatz bekämpft die im münsterländischen Sassenberg und Berlin ansässige Umwelt- und Menschenrechtsorganisation urgewald umweltzerstörende Projekte. Kampagnen von urgewald richten sich deshalb vor allem gegen die Investoren und Finanziers solcher Vorhaben. Denn ohne Kredite und Investoren werden kein Atomkraftwerk, kein Staudamm und keine Pipeline gebaut.

Warum wir urgewald unterstützen

Mit der weltweit ungehemmten Verbrennung von Kohle kann das Klimaziel von Paris nicht erreicht werden. Banken, Versicherer und Investoren werden dazu aufgefordert, der Kohle das Geld zu entziehen – mit einem „Kohle-Divestment“. Anstatt diese schädliche Industrie mit weiteren Investments zu unterstützen, sollen die Financiers diese Geldanlagen abstoßen und in umweltverträgliche Projekte investieren.

Wir fördern urgewald seit dem Jahr 2014.

World Rainforest Movement

Das World Rainforest Movement (WRM) mit Sitz in Montevideo, Uruguay, ist ein internationales Netzwerk von Umweltorganisationen, sozialen Bewegungen und Unterstützerorganisationen von Kleinbäuer*innen und Indigenen Völkern. WRM engagiert sich weltweit für den Schutz der Regenwälder als Lebensgrundlage für traditionelle Waldbewohner und deren Rechte im Widerstand gegen zerstörerische Projekte.

Warum wir das World Rainforest Movement unterstützen

Die letzten Urwälder mit ihrer großen Artenvielfalt müssen als komplexe Ökosysteme erhalten bleiben. Dazu müssen sie konsequent vor industriellem Holzeinschlag geschützt werden. WRM drängt die Holzkonzerne zu einer Umstellung auf eine ökologische und sozial gerechte Waldwirtschaft, die die lokale Bevölkerung in die Waldnutzungsplanung einbezieht und auf Kahlschläge und andere schädliche Eingriffe verzichtet.

Wir fördern das World Rainforrest Movement seit dem Jahr 2015.